FuryBorn: Review

furyborn

 

512 pages
Published May 22nd 2018 by Sourcebooks Fire

Follows two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world…or doom it.

When assassins ambush her best friend, the crown prince, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing her ability to perform all seven kinds of elemental magic. The only people who should possess this extraordinary power are a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light and salvation and a queen of blood and destruction. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven trials to test her magic. If she fails, she will be executed…unless the trials kill her first.

A thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a mere fairy tale to bounty hunter Eliana Ferracora. When the Undying Empire conquered her kingdom, she embraced violence to keep her family alive. Now, she believes herself untouchable–until her mother vanishes without a trace, along with countless other women in their city. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain on a dangerous mission and discovers that the evil at the heart of the empire is more terrible than she ever imagined.

As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world–and of each other.

*******
I received a free copy of this book for an honest review from Edelweiss.
Okay so this me a stupid amount of time to realize that this book jumps from past to present. When I finally figured it out, it made more sense. But somehow it was still strange, to me. I found myself skimming through scenes because of how daunting the book was. Even though I did that, I still got the gist of it. Feel bad, I did not. There was also too much (GASP) world building and with the magic and war and everything, it seemed just too much for me to keep track of. The thing is, I wanted to REALLY love it, but when I broke it down, it just seemed like another cliche fantasy. I mean, the two timelines were literally a thousand years apart.
Rielle and Eliana were both pretty awesome characters, don’t get me wrong. I did prefer Eliana’s plot over Rielle’s (which I did skim over a lot). It was such a long book, I couldn’t wait to get through it. It was like I was in a trial of my own. I feel like I continue to have high hopes for these books and find myself disappointed in the end.
On a personal note, I need to find some stories without magic. I am getting so sick of it.

Ash Princess: review

ash

32 pages
Published April 24th 2018 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Theodosia was taken prisoner after her mother, the queen was conquered by the Kaiser who stole her land and her future. For years he beat and shamed her and dubbed her “Ash Princess” and even made to wear a crown of ashes on occasion. For ten years she suffers this until an old ally appears and gives her hope of reclaiming her title and her people.
I very much enjoyed the writing in this book. Even though some of the themes were familiar, they didn’t impede me from immersing into the world. There is magic in this book, though it doesn’t take over the main theme, as well as romance, which is also in the background of the main plot.
There is a bit of violence done to both Theo and the people around her. The world is harsh and Theo must adapt or become downtrodden herself. She is forced to do some things that she refuses to let define her.  To come back from the misery she endured and to find herself is a hard, hard road. Unlike a lot of fantasy with the same plotlines, this one is genuinely darker and more violent.
The pacing of the book was quick and can be a bit depressing and the love triangle (if you can call it that) was complicated and teetered on cliche, but the author steered it into a different direction which I loved. This book may not be for everyone. Theo sort of lacked a connection for me and her personality was questionable at times, but it only took away from the story a little bit. Could there have been more? Yes. Could Theo have been more relatable? Yes. But I’ll read the second.

 

Ship It: Review

shipit

 

384 pages
Published May 1st 2018 by Freeform
For fans of Queens of Geek, Eliza and her Monsters, Fangirl and Geekarella, this book is for you.
Thank you to NetGalley for the e-arc.
Meet Claire. She writes fanfiction about a show called Demon Heart so when she finds out her favorite actors are coming to her home state for a convention, she races for the chance to go. Using her platform, she asks the show’s writer and actors whether they think the two main characters, Smokey and Heart are romantically involved (which is mostly what she writes her fanfiction about) and is sad to learn that Forest, the actor who pays Smokey is less than enthused about the subject of his character being gay.
Meet Forest. He got his big break in Demon Heart and has dreams of becoming a big actor, playing a lead in a movie based on one of his favorite video games. After causing steam after Claire’s question at the convention, he is even more disappointed to find that she’s coming along for the convention tour.
Claire and Forest both grow as characters. Claire isn’t so sure that she’s queer, even when she falls for a girl she met while touring with the show and Forest needs to tone down his ego and border-line homophobia. These two are great in their banter and their growth as people and eventually friends.
What I loved:
The fandoms
The character arcs
Supportive and funny parents
Great inner dialogue
The diversity
Satisfying ending
I cannot wait to buy it when it releases.